Previous Shortlists & Winners


Boy, Everywhere by AM Dassu (Old Barn Books) (winner)
Agent Asha: Mission Shark Bytes by Sophie Deen, illustrated by Anjan Sarkar (Walker Books)
Brand New Boy by David Almond, illustrated by Marta Altes (Walker Books)
Fearless Fairy Tales by Konnie Huq & James Kay, illustrated by Rikin Parekh (Bonnier)
The Goody by Lauren Child (Orchard Books)
Hope Jones Saves the World by Josh Lacey, illustrated by Beatriz Castro (Andersen Press)
It Isn’t Rude to be Nude by Rosie Haine (Tate Publishing)
A Kind of Spark by Elle McNicoll (Knights Of)
The Soup Movement by Ben Davis (OUP)


The Boy Who Loved Everyone by Jane Porter, illustrated by Maisie Paradise Shearring (Walker) (winner)
Sofia Valdez, Future Prez by Andrea Beaty, illustrated by David Roberts (Abrams & Chronicle)
Sneaky Beak by Tracey Corderoy, illustrated by Tony Neal (Little Tiger)
The Closest Thing to Flying by Gill Lewis (OUP)
The Little Island by Smriti Halls, illustrated by Robert Starling (Andersen Press)
Now or Never – A Dunkirk Story by Bali Rai (Scholastic)
King Leonard’s Teddy by Phoebe Swan (Child’s Play)


Freedom by Catherine Johnson (Scholastic) (winner)
The Ghosts and Jamal by Bridget Blankley (HopeRoad Publishing)
Across the Divide by Anne Booth (Catnip Publishing)
Running on Empty by S.E. Durrant (Nosy Crow)
The King Who Banned the Dark by Emily Haworth-Booth (Pavilion Books)
Tomorrow by Nadine Kaadan (Lantana Publishing)
The New Neighbours by Sarah McIntyre (David Fickling Books)


The Muslims by Zanib Mian (Sweet Apple Publishers and Muslim Children’s Books) (winner)
Tender Earth by Sita Brahmachari (Macmillan Children’s Books)
Mr Bunny’s Chocolate Factory by Elys Dolan (OUP)
Welcome to Nowhere by Elizabeth Laird (Macmillan Children’s Books)
Sky Dancer by Gill Lewis (OUP)
928 Miles from Home by Kim Slater (Macmillan Children’s Books)
Clive is a Nurse by Jessica Spanyol (Child’s Play)
Malala’s Magic Pencil by Malala Yousafzai (author) and Kerascoët (illustrators)


Ada Twist, Scientist by Andrea Beaty, illustrated by David Roberts (Abrams and Chronicle Books) (winner)
Sweet Pizza by G. R. Gemin (Nosy Crow)
Tidy by Emily Gravett (Macmillan/Two Hoots)
The Girl of Ink and Stars by Kiran Milwood Hargrave (Chicken House)
Ossiri and the Bala Mengro by Richard O’Neill and Katharine Quarmby, illustrated by Hannah Tolson (Child’s Play)
Little Red by Bethan Woollvin (Macmillan/Two Hoots)


John Boyne, The Boy at the Top of the Mountain (Doubleday/Penguin Random House UK)
Alexis Deacon and Viviane Schwarz, I Am Henry Finch (winner)  (Walker Books)

Yasmeen Ismail, I’m a Girl! (Bloomsbury Books)
Gill Lewis, Gorilla Dawn (Oxford University Press)
Michael Foreman, The Little Bookshop and the Origami Army (Andersen Press)
Michael Rosen, illustrated by Neal Layton, Uncle Gobb and the Dread Shed (Bloomsbury Books)


Anne Booth, Girl With A White Dog (Catnip Books)
Jessica Shepherd, Grandma (Child’s Play)
Craig Pomranz, ill. by Margaret Chamberlain, Made by Raffi (Janetta Otter-Barry Books/Frances Lincoln)
Bernard Ashley, Nadine Dreams of Home (Barrington Stoke)
Mel Elliott, Pearl Power  (I Love Mel)
Gill Lewis, Scarlet Ibis (winner) (Oxford University Press)
Chris Haughton, Shh! We Have a Plan (Walker Books)
Joan Lingard, Trouble on Cable Street (Catnip Books)


Gillian Cross, After Tomorrow (winner)(OUP)
Geraldine McCaughrean, The Middle of Nowhere (Usborne)
Gill Lewis, Moon Bear (OUP)
Nicola Davies, ill. by Laura Carlin, The Promise (Walker)
Deborah Chancellor, Real Lives: Harriet Tubman (A&C Black, Bloomsbury Publishing)
Andrea Beatty, ill. by David Roberts, Rosie Revere, Engineer
John Boyne, Stay  Where You Are and Then Leave (Doubleday, Random House UK)


Sarah Garland, Azzi In Between (winner) (Frances Lincoln)
Yokococo, Hans and Matilda (Templar Publishing)
John Boyne, ill. by Oliver Jeffers, The Terrible Thing That Happened to Barnaby Brocket (Doubleday Books/Random House UK)
Jeanne Willis, ill. by Lorna Freytag, Wild Child (Walker Books, 2012)

Blog at

%d bloggers like this: